Contact: Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

William Bacus Convicted Of Unlicensed Contracting; Prison Sentence Commuted To Five Years Probation



William Matthew Bacus was recently sentenced to 12 to 18 months in the Nevada State Prison following his conviction of *contracting without a license, diversion of funds and obtaining money under false pretenses*. His sentence was commuted to five years probation, and he was ordered to pay \$4,092.50 in restitution, a fine of \$5,000 and court fees. Bacus had been

extradited to Northern Nevada on a Reno Justice Court warrant stemming from a 2008 incident in which he was paid \$1,920 on a \$3,600 proposal by a homeowner for the installation of two stoves.

Bacus was unlicensed to do the work, which required a C-39 contractor's license. He not only failed to provide the stoves, but did no work.

Bacus was originally arrested in California, before being extradited to Nevada.

"Consumers should not be taken in by promises of cheap work performed by unlicensed contractors," said Margi Grein, Executive Officer of the Nevada State Contractors Board. "In reality it may cost more, and the consumer is left with little or no protection."

Contracting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense. Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.

Consumers can check whether a contractor is licensed by calling: (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada. License checks can also be conducted on the NSCB website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us

###